Disney Insanecation – Day 4

EPCOT!  Oh man.  I had so many great memories of Epcot, and so many things I wanted to do.  The fam got up and left a little early because the brother wanted to go to Test Track.  Figment and I weren’t that interested in that, and I thought I would die if I had to wake up at 5:30 again, so we snoozed just a little late and met them at the Land pavilion for breakfast.  I had a chocolate croissant.  It was glorious.  (I love chocolate croissants more than most any other pastry item in the entire world.)  After that, we went on Living with the Land and I got some excellent ideas for our garden.  (I so want a tomato tree!)

After living with the land, we headed over to Soarin’ which was brilliant.  We were in the first row (thank you Fast Passes!) which concerned me a little bit because I don’t generally do well in the first row of anything, my eyes are just too bad.  But it was amazing.  I didn’t realize how high up they take you when you get off the ground.  I totally would have done it again, but they were already out of fast passes, and it was still early!  After Soarin’ we headed over to the Seas with Nemo and Friends.  Now, Nemo had nothing to do with the seas when I was a kid, it was just the Living Seas, but the exhibits have totally gotten better.  We rode the ride and then wandered around the aquarium bit for a while.  I know a good aquarium when I see one (hello Aquarium of the Americas, I miss you!), and this one was pretty good.  When we got there, there was a guy feeding the cuttlefish.  Those little things are speedy!  If you blinked, you’d have missed it.

Then we split up.  The brother, sister, and nephew all went off to play at Innoventions for a while and were going to go back to the hotel for the afternoon pool party.  The mom, dad, Figment, and I went across to Mission: Space which I was really excited for.  I’d heard great things about it, and let me tell you they were not wrong.  Mom and dad went on the green, while Figment and I went on the orange.  I admit, I got a little nervous while waiting for my turn after listening to the instructions, but I shouldn’t have been.  It was one of my favorite things I did at Disney.  During one bit, I had to push the button and I could barely lift my own arm!

After Mission: Space, we headed over to Spaceship Earth (AKA the giant golf ball), which was one of my can’t miss things.  It was both just how I remembered and completely different.  The little computerized stuff they added to the cars was fantastic, and I loved every minute of it.  Then we headed over to Ellen’s Energy Adventure.  I have to say, I was disappointed.  I don’t remember it having been a 45 minute thing when I was a kid.  Really, what I remembered was the riding part and the dinosaurs.  If I got the chance to do it all over again, I’d have skipped it.  Thankfully, there was a pineapple popsicle before we got there.  After that, it was time to head to the World Showcase!

First stop, Norway where we got fast passes for Maelstrom then headed back to Mexico to do the Gran Fiesta Tour.  The Mexico pavilion hasn’t changed much since I was a kid.  Then it was time for food.  Oh my cake, the tacos.  I shared the chicken tacos and churros with Figment and they were amazing, probably some of the best tacos I’ve ever had.  Absolutely delicious.  Then it was time for our fast passes, so we headed back to Maelstrom.

Maelstrom was always my Mom’s favorite part of Epcot, and I knew I couldn’t skip it.  What I did do was skip the damn film at the end.  I always hated sitting through the movie when I knew there was so much other stuff to see, and now that I’m an adult I finally got to sneak out the other side without having to sit through it.  After that, we just kind of meandered, it was nice to just wander through instead of race.  We took our time looking at the various country specific shops, especially the Christmas ornament store in Germany.  I kind of wanted to purchase a pickle ornament, but I knew I’d break the damn thing before I got  it home.  Because that’s how I roll.

We stopped at a cart outside the Italy pavilion for gelato.  Now, I know absolutely nothing about gelato, but it was delicious anyway.  I had a combo of strawberry and lemon.  It was just the thing for the hottest day thus far.  At this point, I was a sweaty, sweaty person.  Let’s just say I was really thankful for my deodorant.  While we hung out with our gelato, we wandered into the mask shop and then watched the mime who was a trip.  Then we made it to Japan.  I was excited to see the woman who makes the candy animals right out front of the shop, but she wasn’t there yet so we went inside and wandered around for a bit.

We saw the place where you pick your own pearl and both mom and me decided to get one.  She let dad pick hers out, she wanted earrings, so he picked two.  And then Figment and I managed to pick the same clam without even having to talk about it.  It turned out that mom got two different colored pearls, a gray one and a white one, but I ended up with a white one so we traded.  She got her earrings and I ended up with a glorious necklace that I now wear every day.  And it has a great story attached to it!  At this point, the candy lady was there so we went out to check out what she was doing before we headed over to catch the monorail to Magic Kingdom for dinner at the Crystal Palace with Pooh and friends.

I took this picture as she was finishing up.  The green thing (which she hadn’t finished painting yet) was a dragon that Figment had requested.  The upside down one below it is a lion.  She literally takes blobs of plain white sugar candy that’s been warmed enough to be malleable and shapes it with her bare hands and scissors.  It’s absolutely amazing watching her create something out of nothing.  After she finished the dragon, it was time to head out.

As we were headed to the monorail, the brother and sister in law called us.  Apparently they screwed up and our reservation was for 30 minutes sooner than they had told us it was.  We were likely going to be late as we were all the way on the opposite end of the park from the monorail at that point.  We speed walked past the remaining countries and headed to the monorail.  I forgot that between Epcot and Magic Kingdom you have to switch trains at the transportation and ticket center.  We were going to be just barely on time.  Until the monorail fail.  I swear it was like riding the metro at home.  We made it to the Contemporary, and then we had to stop.  Something about adding another train to the line and/or safety checks.  It took FOREVER and we were late.  But it didn’t matter too much, we just chilled out on the porch at the Crystal Palace until they called us.

The buffet wasn’t really anything to write home about (except the dessert), but it was good food anyway.  And the nephew absolutely loved seeing Tigger, Piglet, Pooh, and Eeyore, which made the whole thing worth it.  We were inside while the parade was going on outside, so we missed that.  Then Figment and I decided to go ride Pirates again while we waited for the fireworks to start.  We rode Pirates not once but twice, bringing the total up to 4 Pirate trips in 4 days.  As it was the release date for the new Pirates movie, they had changed Davey Jones in the mist at the beginning to Blackbeard.  Everything else was the same.

Afterwards we watched the fireworks, well half of them.  We didn’t really think it through well enough, because we tried to see them from the top of Swiss Family Treehouse, but there were too many branches.  So we ended up over by the Hall of Presidents where we caught the end.  Regardless of how much we missed, it was still great.  (It turns out we didn’t make the worst choice, the rest of the family ended up seeing them from the people mover!) And since it was a Magic Hour day, after the fireworks were through, the fun continued where we met up with the rest of the family at the Tomorrowland Speedway.  I was kind of excited, I was finally old/tall enough to drive my own freaking car!  Unfortunately, I got what was probably the slowest car on the track, but it was still fun.  The brother in law got in trouble for running into dad.  He said some guy just appeared out of the bushes and started yelling!

After that, we had time for one more thing, so we decided to go to Monsters Inc again.  Figment and I had already been, but no one else had.  This time, mom got picked out of the audience.  I have to say, it was absolutely hilarious and the nephew was giggling madly at grandma.  I don’t think she’ll ever live it down, and the number 57 will never be the same again.  Then we were all exhausted and ready to go home, so we headed back to the hotel for rest and relaxation before the final Disney day.

 

View of the Magic Kingdom from Swiss Family Treehouse

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Disney. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

