Disney Insanecation – Final Day

Okay, so I haven’t actually forgotten about the blog, I’ve just been ridiculously busy and completely incapable of concentrating on any one thing for any length of time.  So, without further ado, let’s get on with the show.

Today was the roller coaster ride of the trip.  Not only was it the very last day, but we hit ALL FOUR PARKS.  Yes, you heard me, all four.

We started off the morning taking the bus from our hotel to Animal Kingdom.  We were having breakfast at Boma at the Animal Kingdom Lodge, but we got to Animal Kingdom with about an hour before we needed to be at breakfast.  (It was just me and Figment.  The rest of the fam had left really early to hit up Toy Story at So in we went.  We stayed pretty close to the entrance, but we saw things that we had missed the first time through, like most of the “zoo” section.

 These McCaw parrots were gorgeous, and we were just in time for noms.  There were red, blue and even green ones.  We also saw some lemurs and warthogs and a MASSIVE amount of ducks.  Seriously, if I were a duck I would totally live at Disney.  These guys have amazing lives full of people feeding them all the time.  Then we hopped on the bus to the lodge for breakfast.

Boma was the perfect place to have our last breakfast.  It was quiet and the buffet was fantastic.  AND they had my very favorite Disney breakfast item: sticky buns.  I love Disney stickies.  I still remember staying at the Contemporary all those years ago with my parents and always having Mickey’s Stickies for breakfast.  Win.

After we ate, and I stuffed myself with pineapple (omnomnom), we headed out to wander the grounds of the lodge.  There’s a fabulous animal preserve at the back, complete with a guide from South Africa ready to answer all your questions about the animals and their habitat.  There were giraffes and antelope and even flamingos.  It was really pretty.

At this point, Figment and the parents and I decided we wanted to go to Hollywood Studios.  The fam had picked us up Fast Passes for Toy Story (since we refused to stand in line for 90 minutes when we were there the last time) and we wanted to ride Rock & Roll Roller Coaster again.  When we got there, Figment and the parents headed towards Toy Story while I ran off to get passes.  They were for several hours later so I wasn’t sure we would use them, but I got them anyway just in case.  When we got to Toy Story, since mom was in her wheelchair (after she got used to the idea, there was no way we were not getting one again) we got put to the front of the line without needing our passes.  So when we exited (it was great!) we gave away our 4 passes to another family waiting in line.  Win!

Then we wandered over to Star Tours.  We weren’t expecting to get on as it was Star Wars weekend, but we wanted to see all the folks dressed in costume.  Again, the chair was our ticket.  They put us in the Fast Pass lane.  We were excited because I freaking LOVED Star Tours, and the parents didn’t really get to enjoy it because the previous time they were on it with the creeped out 5 year old.  They really enjoyed it this time.  After that, we decided we’d had enough of Hollywood Studios, so we gave our Rock & Roll Coaster passes to some folks who randomly walked by complaining that the line was too long, and headed to Magic Kingdom!

Yes, we had been to Magic Kingdom just about every day at this point.  What can I say, it’s part of my childhood and I <3 it.  Mom & Dad wanted to see the Hall of Presidents, and Figment and I wanted to ride Pirates again.  So we got there and split up and headed our separate ways.  We actually rode Pirates twice in a row, after getting a frozen strawberry lemonade. Nom.  And since it was the release date of the new Pirates movie, they had changed the Davey Jones hologram at the beginning into Blackbeard!  Besides that, everything else was the same.  After Pirates and Presidents, we decided to head on over to Epcot to get in all the things we missed the day before when we had to dash out.  Besides, we needed to pick up our pearls.

We hit the monorail (and griped at the guy for making mom walk all the way down the ramp and back up instead of letting us through the gate) and went to Epcot.  I had a nostalgic moment as we passed through the Contemporary.  We headed straight to Japan to pick up our stuff, then wandered through the rest of Epcot checking out the remaining bits of World Showcase.  We did have lunch at the Japanese quick service.  I had udon noodles with tempura shrimp.  It was really tasty.  I didn’t want to eat too much because that night we were headed to my very favorite Disney restaurant.

(source)

After we showcased it up, (we even saw replicas of Kate Middleton/Diana’s engagement ring in the England section!) we headed off to my favorite part of Epcot; FIGMENT!  I totally had a Figment plush when I was little.  I LOVED Figment.  I remember there was even a guy (who isn’t part of that section anymore) who wandered around that part of Epcot with a Figment puppet.  We stopped by the jumping water fountain, where this one little girl kept trying to jump up to get the water to hit her.  She was just too short.  So Figment goes up to her and asks if she wants picked up and she nods.  And he says “are you ready!?” and she goes “YEAH!!!” and he lifts her up and she got DRILLED with the jumping water.  The look on her face was priceless.

Wow.  It was so different.  If you’re interested, this is what I remember it being like.  I have to say, Imagination was way better when I was a kid.  There were loads more fun activities then than there are now.  To be honest, it’s a little boring although the ride itself was cute.

After we left Figment behind (although not completely, I bought a Figment Vynilmation magnet) we headed out to sit on a bench for a little while before it was time to meet up for dinner at the Coral Reef!  (That linked blog has some amazing pictures of the restaurant.)  It’s the one place that we ate while there that I remembered eating at when I was a kid.  I don’t remember the food, or the decor of the restaurant, what I remember is that while you’re eating you’re looking at this massive aquarium.  This also turned out to be my very favorite meal of the entire trip.

(source)

I had the Mahi Mahi with rock shrimp and a coconut sauce and the chocolate wave cake.  It was absolutely delicious.  Even better? Disney Fan magazine has posted the recipe for it.  I may never have access to mahi, but I’m sure as hell going to try it with some other kind of fish.  It was a delicious evening.  And we had an amazing table.  We were in the second row from the aquarium so we had basically an unobstructed view of fish all through dinner.  And as Figment and I were in charge of the midget, he actually behaved himself AND ate his dinner.  Will wonders never cease.  After that dinner, we were really ready to head on back to the hotel.  We’d missed the lights/fireworks show because it happened while we were at dinner, and we knew we needed to go ahead and start packing and getting ready to leave the next morning, so we just hopped the bus and went back.

Figment and I went directly to the hot tub.  We did not pass go or collect $200.  We were so damn tired and sore from all the walking that we couldn’t even think of doing anything else but plunking our butts into steaming water with a glorious adult beverage in hand.  In all, it was the best most tiring vacation ever and I cannot wait to do it all over again.

Spaceship Earth - Our last view of Disney

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

